LONDON – The United Kingdom (UK) plans to ban disposable vapes, according to multiple reports. The government is considering a ban due to fears that these vaping products, often flavored to attract younger users, are enticing teenagers.

Courtesy: Food & Drug Administration

In the United States, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recently issued an alert regarding vape pens designed to resemble highlighter markers, available in child-friendly flavors such as strawberry banana, mango, and blueberry ice, making them easy to conceal from parents, teachers, and other adults.

According to reports from the Daily Telegraph, the UK ban may go into effect as early as next week.

“We have been looking into this and doing a review because this is a very worrying trend that we’re seeing,” Science Minister Michelle Donelan told Sky News. “Young children are taking up vaping who have never smoked before, and it is extremely dangerous to their health and well-being, and it is something we do need to act on. As a government what we are trying to do is recognize what are the key challenges.”

The UK’s move follows the footsteps of other Western countries that have already taken measures to restrict or prohibit disposable vapes. Australia, for instance, has banned all vaping without a prescription, while Germany has prohibited flavored e-cigarettes, and New Zealand has outlawed most disposable vapes, in addition to implementing marketing restrictions aimed at children. France has also announced its intention to ban all disposable e-cigarettes.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, most e-cigarettes contain nicotine. Nicotine is not only highly addictive, but it can also harm adolescent brain development, which continues into the early to mid-20s.

In addition to nicotine, e-cigarettes can contain other harmful substances. Emily’s Hope recently reported that the Florida Retail Federation is warning the public that black-market vaping products could be laced with fentanyl, after several reports across the United States.